A request to the Central Land Council for more information. And a reply from CLC.

Mr David Ross,
Director,
Central Land Council 

Alice Springs,

Dear David,

TWO-LAWS and CONSTITUTIONAL REFORM

For many years i have promoted the Constitutional recognition of First Peoples – as cultural partners – and it is far too long overdue in my assessment.

I read the CLC media release regarding the recent Ross River meeting you Co-Chaired in preparation for the Constitutional Convention at Uluru in May.

These days I am completely out of touch with life in the NT and have one question the CLC may be able to answer for me. 
What is the role of senior lawmen in the Tennant Creek and Barkly region in the lead up to and participation in the National Indigenous Constitutional Convention at Uluru in May?
This was unclear to me from the CLC media release.

I have written about this on one of my blogs. See https://japaljari.wordpress.com/2017/04/08/two-laws-and-constitutional-recognition/

I will be writing some follow up articles and, as it happens, my wife and i will be in Alice Springs in late May and June (my 70th birthday treat to myself.)

Please advise.

cheers

Bruce (Japaljari) Reyburn

Coledale NSW

Reply from Central Land Council.

Hi Bruce,

thanks for keeping in touch and for your interest in the Referendum Council’s First Nations Regional Dialogue at Ross River.

The Referendum Council last year requested the CLC’s help with the organisation and facilitation of the meeting, including with a representative mix of participants of ages, genders and Central Australian regions.

In the lead up to the meeting we consulted with our elected members from all nine sub-regions (including the Tennant Creek region) about which traditional owner representatives the Referendum Council should invite, alongside representatives of Aboriginal organisations and individuals from the Central Australian region – see our earlier media release at http://www.clc.org.au/media-releases/article/clc-to-help-organise-central-australian-constitutional-recognition-referend/.

Our face book page and web site (in particular Land Rights News, Council News and Community Development News) are good ways to keep in touch with what’s happening in our region today.

I wish you all the best for your birthday trip.

With kind regards,

(name deleted – BR)

Communications Manager

Central Land Council

My note:

I very strongly recommend reading the media release mentioned above and then checking out the Barunga Statement and Kalkaringi Statement – to which i will provide links next.