Telling story of country with soul – from ABC

 

Learning country through our eyes – Dave Johnston
Tue 22 May 12, 17:18pm AEST

 

It was during an idyllic childhood spent exploring the beaches and caves of remote Australia that Dave Johnston realised he wanted to be an archaeologist. “My father was a lighthouse keeper and we were living on Booby Island in the Torres Strait. One day I came in from exploring caves, probably in my cowboy outfit, and mum said maybe you want to an archaeologist. I went over to our dusty old Encyclopaedia Britannica, read about it, decided that’s what I want to do and I’ve never looked back.” Johnston is one of a small but growing number of Indigenous academics in the field, and he’s found himself occupying a key position in a time when a mining boom is putting pressure on much of Australia’s heritage. He did his Masters in Britain, has worked at the British Museum and on paleo…

to read the full story on your mobile please use this link
http://m.abc.net.au/browse?page=11144&articleid=3507675&cat=Science

to read the full story on a PC or Mac please use this link
http://goo.gl/8sfds